Bilateral agreement

The agreement on the freedom of movement of persons is one of the seven agreements (bilateral treaties) which were signed between Switzerland and the EU on 21 June 1999. This agreement coordinates such matters as the different national social insurance systems. However, it does not unify the individual systems.

The agreement covers the following insurance branches:

  • Old age
  • Invalidity
  • Survivor’s benefits
  • Illness and maternity
  • Working accidents and occupational diseases
  • Unemployment
  • Family benefits

In the case of occupational benefits, only the statutory minimum cover (LOB) is governed by the scope of the agreement.

The agreement relates to citizens of Switzerland or of an EU country who work in the EU or in Switzerland. The relocation of such persons from Switzerland, the EU or vice versa is also covered.

The bilateral agreement was extended to the ten new EU member countries ( Estonia , Latvia , Lithuania , Malta , Poland , Slovakia , Slovenia , Czech Republic , Hungary and Cyprus ) on 1 April 2006 and to Bulgaria and Romania on 1 June 2009.

Further information about the agreement on the freedom of movement of persons can be found on the special website of the Federal Office for Social Insurance .